Relaxed Machinery CDR release – “Espiritista”

We added this Relaxed Machinery CDR release to the Hypnos Store a while back but failed to feature it here until now.

åpne sinn – espiritista (cdr)
(Relaxed Machinery category)
(Price: $9.99 cdr)
By turns drifting and ethereal then beat driven, this debut recording spans many musical types and genres.

“In his second outing, Åpne Sinn (aka Geoff Small) enlists ambient friends Steve Brand and Peter James in pulling together a strong blend of drifting ambient washes that glide across understated tribal touches and skirt the edge of shadow when they’re not simply easing forward with cloud-motion grace.”
–Review by Hypnagogue

Track listing:
1. Espiritista 7:40

2. Advaita 6:06
3. A White Space (for DGS) 1:50
4. Tabula Rasa 4:30
5. Twinewheel 5:40
6. Freefall 6:35
7. Lucky Enough 5:46
8. Remcycle 7:24
9. Slowdive 6:04
10. Arclight 14:45…

Steve Brand’s Spiritual Science 2012 reissue

Just added this Steve Brand re-release to the Hypnos Store.

Steve Brand – Spiritual Science (2012 re-release) (2cdr)
(Relaxed Machinery category)
(Price: $19.99 2cdr)

From the 2009 release notes, Brand says, “I’d been an Ishq (Matt Hiller) fan for about 3-4 years. I found his music as part of my complete immersion in Ultimae material (Ishq kept showing up in the ‘If you like this, you’ll like this’ area of iTunes). I bought ‘Orchid’ and was hooked. I love his atmospheres and beats, the delicacy, expansiveness and expressiveness of feeling, and his intuitive and spiritual approach to music. Really feels like home to me. Anyway, Matt had some free loops of his sounds on his site at that time and I couldn’t resist—I used some in a piece and sent the piece to him, Matt kindly responded. I then suggested a collaboration. He quickly sent me a entire DVD of unique material, and here we are. Very easy and organic. I think everyone will really enjoy these disks which are a very nice mingling of our individual sounds; you can hear the Ishq influence, but overall, probably a bit of a darker journey than his own work, but still spacious, organic, emotive.”

Re-mastered by S. Brand 2011-2012 and re-released on Brand’s Pioneer Light Music label.

Track List
1. Soft Temples [24:13]
2. Flame of Nuit [17:08]
3. Nature is Sung [34:06]
4. The Voice from Home [52:30]…


Peter James – Memento

Here’s another Relaxed Machinery label release, this one by Peter James. Just added to the Hypnos Store.

Peter James – Memento
(Relaxed Machinery category)
(Price: $9.99 CD)
A placid and beautiful ambient music set based around field recordings, of which Peter James says:
“I have tried to keep all the pieces as simple as the moments they depict, so as not to blur the memories they evoke. It was in fact while I was recording “sometimes we forget” that I finally understood what the phrase “the best temples have no doors” really means for me. So, ultimately, yes, this is a personal journey; but I hope that some new memories are formed, some new places found, real or imagined, that will create a wider sense of travel, even when standing still.”

Link to preview on YouTube

Track List:
1. sometimes we forget [8:17]
2. everything matters [12:37]
3. moments within each moment [21:04]
4. nothing matters [23:12]


Austere – Euterpe

Just added to the Hypnos Store, the latest from the Relaxed Machinery label by Austere.

Austere – Euterpe
(Relaxed Machinery category)
(Price: $9.99 CD)
Austere say: Honed sonic goodness that covers every style or genre we’ve been known for (which is many) but mostly brand-new ground broken, no paths retraced. A diverse trip of everything that can be called “ambient” this is also the Austere CD that you can give to your Mom on her birthday…. While it “remains distinctly an Austere release” (as put by one reviewer) we consider it if not our very best album, certainly one our finest and a high-water mark. Still very much a mindscape (soundscapes for altered states of mind – although meditation over medication, we advise) it also has, as several have put it: “wide mainstream appeal” — which suits us quite fine as a culmination of years of work.

Track List:
1 – Polyhymnia (5:57)
2 – Roseate (7:02)
3 – Wadan (5:46)
4 – Sunshone (16:23)
5 – Totonality (17:34)
6 – Advenire (4:38)
7 – Betroven (5:57)
8 – deMote (3:43)…