CD Release: Let the Stars Assume the Whole of Night, by Caul

We’re very pleased to announce the latest CD release from Hypnos, Let the Stars Assume the Whole of Night. It’s the first release on Hypnos by Caul. As with our last few new releases, we’re going to offer a special reduced price for the first week of release. This CD will end up selling for our usual $12.99, but we’re offering a special “week one” deal through Friday April 6, only through the Hypnos Online Store.

Follow the links below to get Let the Stars Assume the Whole of Night by Caul for just $8.99. (The announcement says $12.99 because that’s the long-term price, but click through and you’ll find the deal available on the store until Apr 6.)

Artist: Caul
Title: Let the Stars Assume the Whole of Night
Label: Hypnos (digipak CD)

Caul - Let the Stars Assume the Whole of Night

Caul has released an array of incredible dark, cinematic ambient music, but much of it has been self-released in small quantities, so many listeners who might potentially enjoy his work might be unfamiliar with it. His collaboration with Numina, Inside the Hollow Realm, did receive a fair bit of attention five or six years ago, but Caul has mostly flown under the radar. As I mentioned, most of his work has been self-released, often in elegant, artisanal hand-made packaging. See his Discogs Page for more information about his work, or his own site at

Let the Stars Assume the Whole of Night is a wonderful mix of sounds and atmospheres: dark without being spooky, melodic but not pretty, listenable, but too nervous and somber to ever become predictable. These pieces are more composed and structured than most ambient music, more akin to the soundtrack for some dark and moody piece of cinema. Imagine the score to an undiscovered work by David Lynch or Andrei Tarkovsky and you have the idea. Listen to the sound clips below and decide for yourself.

Track listing, with mp3 sample clips:
01 > A clear eye loves the shadows as well > 3.32 MP3 clip
02 > Radiance falls > 4.45 MP3 clip
03 > The sparkling snow is full of roses > 3.28 MP3 clip
04 > The silent road to your pillars > 4.32 MP3 clip
05 > Upon the vines > 4.30 MP3 clip
06 > Just one autumn for ripe songs > 3.59 MP3 clip
07 > We are like heartless shadows > 6.01 MP3 clip
08 > Words of praise arise, like flowers > 4.26 MP3 clip
09 > Oblivion and holy drunkenness > 3.22 MP3 clip
10 > She is holy to those who are lost or dead > 2.10 MP3 clip
11 > Bells ring softly in the twilight air > 6.05 MP3 clip
12 > The kindness of exalted night > 5.00 MP3 clip

Purchase for $12.99 on Hypnos Online Store

Caul digipak exterior

Caul digipak interior

Purchase for $12.99 on Hypnos Online Store

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *